On Monday 22nd of September 2025, in the Super 4 round of the 2025 Asia Cup in Dubai, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) formally complained to the International Cricket Council (ICC) about TV umpire Ruchira Palliyaguruge's controversial out of Fakhar Zaman during Pakistan's intense match against bitter rivals India. Salman Ali Agha, the captain of …
PCB Complains Against Umpire Palliyaguruge For Fakhar Zaman’s Contentious Out.

On Monday 22nd of September 2025, in the Super 4 round of the 2025 Asia Cup in Dubai, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) formally complained to the International Cricket Council (ICC) about TV umpire Ruchira Palliyaguruge’s controversial out of Fakhar Zaman during Pakistan’s intense match against bitter rivals India.
Salman Ali Agha, the captain of Pakistan’s Twenty20 International team, has also filed a complaint critical of the TV umpire’s rule. Additionally, he expressed his worries about the contentious dismissal in the media, claiming that “it seemed the ball bounced before being picked up. We could have likely scored about 190 runs if Fakhar had continued to bat like that on the powerplay”, he continued.
Following a contentious catch behind the stumps, Fakhar Zaman was dismissed. With the aid of three boundaries, the left-hander quickly reached (15 off just 9 deliveries), demonstrating his strong middle-field form.
Hardik Pandya’s slower delivery, which clipped the outside edge of Fakhar’s willow and was picked up by Sanju Samson behind the stumps, was the contentious moment in the innings’ third over. Despite questions about whether the India wicketkeeper’s catch was lawful, Fakhar was declared out caught behind.
After a lengthy check to determine whether the ball had struck the ground or not before Samson took it, the third umpire declared Fakhar out. Fakhar was shocked and confused as he stepped out the field. Both Waqar Younis and Wasim Akram, who were discussing on the game, questioned the decision.
Likewise, fans and retired cricket players join the debate on X on the validity of the catch. According to Indian journalist Rahul Rawat, it appears that Fakhar Zaman was awarded incorrectly. “It appears as though the ball touches the ground before reaching the Indian wicketkeeper’s gloves,” he remarked.